Haybales

It was gorgeous out today, and I had the camera out. I totally should have snapped some pictures of the garden, and posted a little update. Perhaps tomorrow (even though it’s supposed to rain).

Instead, I took pictures of haybales. Round haybales, to be precise.

A normal person might ask me “why?” Why indeed.  Well, it’s a long story. Let me shorten it.

My mother asked for one thing for Christmas. A picture of a haybale, preferably black and white, to go above the fireplace.  The catch(es)? I had to take the picture, and it had to be a round haybale.  I’ll cut the drama and just tell you than I failed miserably.  My mother was not thrilled.

Tomorrow is her birthday.  51. I was not home for 50. I think I may have failed pretty miserably at whatever gift I gave her for 50. So I spent my afternoon searching out round haybales. I found them.  The results are below.

My question for you, then, dear readers (of which I think I can count on three. You know who you are.) is: Which photo should I get printed, all nice and professional-like at Foto-One, for my mother’s birthday? Keep in mind these things: 1) she will mat it and frame it so that it is square, 2) it will go above a stone fireplace mantel, 3) the frame will be wide and black (she and I have similar aesthetic senses when it comes to framing), and 4) she requested black and white (but i kinda like the tri-color one). Respond in the comments section, plz.

Oh, I’ve been digging the Flash-Animation Gallery builder on Lightroom lately, ever since I re-did my portfolio for a grant. Hence, the Flash-Animation gallery of the haybales.  When voting, plz use their number (i.e. 1/4, 2/4, 3/4, 4/4). Thx!!!

Also note: if you’re typing in the following URL, it’s case-sensitive.

http://www-personal.umich.edu/~kfultz/Haybales

4 Responses to “Haybales”


  1. 1 Doc March 17, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    the color one! the color one!

  2. 2 Erin March 18, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Doc is right, the color one is the best. If she MUST have B&W, go with 1/4.

    Enjoy the springy weather!

  3. 3 Simon April 3, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I would take 3/4, crop out the bottom and left 10-20%, push the contrast, exposure and clarity, then darken the corners with the vignette.

    Rinse, repeat.

  4. 4 katherine April 5, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    hmmm, vignette is a good idea! hadn’t occurred to me. sadly, the contrast and clarity are both maxed out. but i’ll play with the exposure and see what i can do.

    thanks for your comments, everyone (including Z’s email)! 🙂


Leave a Reply

