New Favorite Omelet

I am a big fan of eggs. They are super nutritious, über-versatile, and ultra tasty. However, I really only like them two ways: scrambled, or in an omelet. Basically, those are the same way, but in different forms (because you have to beat them first to get an omelet, ya know). In some contexts (for example, on a bun with avocado, onion, and a teeny bit of hot sauce– green, preferably) I like fried eggs, but I don’t like the yolks too runny. Once I had an egg over-easy (with bi bim bop), and it was pretty good, but I couldn’t think too hard about it. I OD’d on hard-boiled eggs as a kid (egg salad sandwiches, anyone?) and now absolutely cannot eat them. Except mushed into things. Ew.

Eggs are versatile, and will pair well with just about anything. When I say I have “eggs” in the morning, I don’t really mean just “eggs.” Usually I throw in some potatoes, onion, garlic, spinach, and whatever other veggies are in season. I brown all of those in some olive oil and then pour my beaten eggs on top. Scramble away.

Until exactly one day ago, my all-time favorite egg dish was a scramble (or frittata, basically just a baked scramble) with sweet potatoes, spinach, garlic, onion, and goat cheese. Dee-licious. See, I may like omelets, but I had yet to master the presentation.

Until now.

I don’t know what happened, but suddenly I am able to successfully turn and flip an omelet. Increased patience? Better spatula-skills? Sheer dumb luck?

So my new thing: a one-egg omelet (I get the local variety of big brown eggs… they’re big!) filled with onions, garlic, spinach, pine nuts, and parmesan cheese. It’s basically this pasta “sauce” that I made the other night, less the white wine and bread crumbs, wrapped in a blanket of egg-y goodness.

Sautée the onions, garlic, and pine nuts together until the onions are soft and the pine nuts are getting toasty. Salt. Pepper. Add the spinach and cook until wilted. Remove from pan. Add one well-beaten egg with just a splash of cream or milk to the pan. When the eggs lose their sheen on top, add the veg to one half. Sprinkle liberally with cheese. Gently fold the eggs in half, over the veg. Flip once, and serve. Mmm.

1 Response to “New Favorite Omelet”


  1. 1 Doc February 7, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    PICTURES!!!!!!!

    Sounds good 🙂 I’m not patient enough to make omelets. I like to brown veggies and then drop a couple of eggs on top and let them cook on low until they’re over easy. I like the whites to be pretty firm but the yolks to still be runny. I know, you think it’s gross 🙂 A soft-boiled egg is STILL my single favorite food. There are so many complex tastes in a single soft-boiled egg. Mmmm…

    And then there are custards! Cheese cake is a custard 🙂


Leave a Reply

