Flake

Friday morning, I needed to run some errands. First, I had to go buy some cat food and lotion and tomato paste (they’re cheaper at the chi-chi store up the street than at the co-op). Well, actually, I’ve needed to buy cat food for about a week. Poor kitties have been eating the stuff they don’t like, that I had leftover from a while ago.

Anyway…

Then, I had to go rent snowshoes for the evening excursion with some friends out at Pinckney.

Since I was at the (fancier) store anyway, I decided to treat myself to some (decaf) coffee from their coffee bar. Then I grabbed a cart and went to get my items.

I became preoccupied by the lotion section. I set the coffee in my cart so I could better focus on the lotion bottles, and hold one in each hand for side-by-side comparison. Usually, I buy the “organic” stuff, except it’s about $10.50 and I didn’t want to spend that much. I took a second look at the ingredients, and realized that the only “organic” part of it was in fact the scent (lavender). And maybe the water? They put organic lavender in it, so they can call it organic. Sorry, not worth $10.

Looking at a few other brands, I tried to figure out if *any* of them did not use petroleum products. Then I realized that they were all in plastic bottles…

I compromised and bought the “natural” oatmeal lotion that also happened to be the cheapest. The ingredients on the back looked pretty typical, with the last half having names I could not pronounce. Oh, well.

Grabbed the cart and wandered over to the cat food.

I was caught off-guard by this guy standing at a little table in the middle of the aisle. “Ma’am, would you like to see our specials today? Lots of free stuff! Step right up!” He was really loud. And he called me “ma’am.” I veered around him and muttered a “no, thanks.” I didn’t think stores like this let those people set up shop in here…?

I found the tomato paste I was looking for (in a resealable tube!), but, when I went to place it in my cart, I realized something terrible had happened.

My coffee mug, neglected in the basket while I considered lotions, had turned on its side and spilled its contents. All over the cat food, and my reusable shopping bag. My mug was now half-full.

As I retraced my path with my eyes, I realized that it had in fact overturned some time ago. I had left a coffee-dribble-trail around half the store, forming puddles where I had paused.

I sheepishly ducked into the next aisle. No one had seen me.

I found the checkout counter with the shortest line. The cat food left a puddle of coffee on the conveyor belt. “I, uh, spilled some coffee over there…” I explained to the checkout guy. “Where?” He asked.

“Oh, um, in that aisle there,” I said, gesturing vaguely behind me.

Remembering my coupon for the cat food (another reason for coming to this store), I fumbled with my wallet. There was a handful of change caught up in the folded coupon, which I then proceeded to drop all over the conveyor belt. Nervous laugh.

I’m sure the checkout guy thought I was giggling because of him (he was about my age). I assure you, I was not. I was giggling like an idiot because I had just dribbled half the contents of my coffee mug around the store. The contents being my one cup of (decaf) coffee this week, and not the cheap variety either. I am a flake.

Aside from the aforementioned Coffee Incident, and then later losing one of my hubcaps at some point in my errand-running (damned $50-piece of plastic!), the day actually improved. How could it not? 😛

2 Responses to “Flake”


  1. 1 Doc January 25, 2009 at 9:08 am

    lol.

    when i went to soulard and to aldi a couple of weeks ago with erin, i bought a gallon of milk at aldi. and another gallon of milk later in the day at trader joe’s, because i left the gallon from aldi on the roof of erin’s car, and it ended up splattered all over grand avenue : i saw a flash or white and said “did you have a pile of snow on your car??”… alas, there was no snow.

    we need the flaky days for comparison. to remind us how smooth we are on a normal (?) basis.

    and you can make good decaf at home! no need to deprive yourself of the excellent antioxidant properties of coffee 🙂

  2. 2 katherine January 25, 2009 at 9:15 am

    hee hee. I’ve done the coffee-on-the-roof-of-the-car thing, too 😀

    I know I can make good decaf at home… but a pound of beans was out of the budget for last week 😛 maybe i’ll bump the budget up a few dollars this week… it is the last week of the month, and I’ve been really thrifty this month!


Leave a Reply

