Still no caffeine

It has been almost a month… and I’m still drinking decaf coffee and herbal tea. Can you believe it?!

Neither can I.

Granted, some people might claim that decaf is “cheating” because there are still small amounts of caffeine in it. And granted, I have been craving chocolate like never before (and, um, indulging). And there’s caffeine in chocolate. But I’m seriously considering switching over to herbal tea. No kidding.

I guess you could call it a New Year’s Resolution. But resolutions almost never stick, so I’m trying to think of a new name.

Health? Balance? Discipline?

Sanity?

Yeah, I feel a lot saner when I’m not on caffeine. And I have cool dreams!* Except… ever since I watched “The Science of Sleep**,” I’ve been wondering if my dreams are really happening. Like, I woke up the other morning and wondered if I had actually sent an inappropriate email to the entire department listserv, or if I had just dreamed it. I’m pretty sure I just dreamed it, because I didn’t have the angry reply from the graduate coordinator that I had in my dream.  I guess that doesn’t sound “more sane,” does it?

In other news, I’m training for mountain biking again. Really. I’m going to do a 100k race in June, before I take off for field research.  I signed up for www.dailymile.com, which is a social-networking/ training journal site.  My old racing/ riding buddy signed up as well, and we’re keeping each other honest 😉

Part of this training includes a new yoga class– really spiffy. I came to the realization that my posture is steadily degenerating, thanks to near-constant sitting and reading or typing. That class is exactly what my back (and abs, and legs, and arms) needs.

I had the sudden urge to “go vegan” the other day… but then the last piece of cheesecake Doc made was staring at me from the bottom shelf of the fridge. Ohhh, cream cheese and eggs and butter-and-oreo crust! Not to mention crackers and cheese, and scrambled eggs, and mac n cheese, and cream in my (decaf) coffee…

Little steps. One change at a time.

*Caffeine is a dream suppressant. Bet you didn’t know that!

**Good movie, highly recommended. And not *just* because Gael García Bernal is in it. Really.

3 Responses to “Still no caffeine”


  1. 1 Doc January 15, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Oh gods. If you ‘go vegan,’ I’ll never cook for you again 😛

    I need to find a *good* decaf coffee soon. The trader joe’s stuff tastes like they used chemicals to decaf it. It’s not as overbearing and obvious as some brands, but there’s definitely some trace taste that builds with every sip. Ugh.

  2. 2 Doc January 15, 2009 at 7:45 am

    ohhh and I had a really, really bad dream a couple of nights ago 😦

    it was even worse than you taking up some crazy dietary prohibitions.

  3. 3 Nina January 18, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I stopped caffeine a few years ago, with occasional exceptions–an added perk is that after a while, just a little caffeine is enough to wake you up when you really need it! Good luck:)


Leave a Reply

