Amaranth

A few months ago, I bought a bag of amaranth grain.  The reason? I had a cookie recipe that called for amaranth flour. I was not able to find the flour, so I thought I would grind the grain in my spice grinder instead.

Heh, yeah, right. The cookies turned out a little… crunchy, prompting the recipient to ask if there was flax in them. (FYI: if there had been flax in them, it would have been ground flax– I don’t buy the whole seed– and it wouldn’t have been crunchy 😉 )

So, I was stuck with a bag of amaranth grain that I thought I would never use.

I am here today, ladies and gentlemen, to inform you that I have hereby finished that bag of amaranth grain.

Turns out, it makes a tasty breakfast cereal (especially when combined with oats).

Now I don’t know what I’m going to eat for breakfast anymore…

1 Response to “Amaranth”


  1. 1 Doc November 25, 2008 at 10:11 am

    toast with pumpkin butter!
    cream of wheat w/ cheddar cheese!
    trader joe’s maple cereal clusters w/ yogurt!

    now you get to play 🙂


Leave a Reply

