Moral Dilemma

My former [female] roommate, with whom I had quite a few “issues” while she was living here, moved out in July and neglected to have her mail forwarded. I gathered the mail for her and brought it to campus and gave it to her. I asked her to please register her new address at the post office, her bank, and the University.

Two days later, our mail delivery stopped. We didn’t get mail for four days. We were all expecting textbooks that we had ordered, bills, and paychecks.  I called the post office, and they said that a “hold” had been placed on our address. All of our mail was being held at the main post office. The hold was placed in the name of my old roommate.

Now, had she simply registered her new address, they would have forwarded her first-class mail, and ONLY her mail, to her new address. I have moved several times. I have had to register my new address several times. My roommates’ mail was never held or forwarded. I know how this works. She has had to do the same. You would think that perhaps, by now, she’d understand how it works. INSTEAD, she had a hold placed on all of the mail to this address. Does everyone reading register the difference?

So, now the “hold” period is up, and we’re getting all of her mail again. My moral dilemma: throw it out, or arrange further (possibly never-ending) on-campus meetings?

I should note that I paid her last water bill in the high hopes that I would never, ever again in my life have to deal with this woman again. That is how much I did not want to see her.

2 Responses to “Moral Dilemma”


  1. 1 Nina September 23, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Ugh…I’ve definitely had situations like that with former roommates. Maybe you could put her recent mail together and send it (campus mail?) to her, with a note saying that from then on you’ll throw out her mail and that she should therefore update her address? You could even give her the postal service web site for change of address so that she’ll get it right this time.

  2. 2 doc September 26, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    talk to the post office folks about the situation. they might have a solution. i’m sure they’ve dealt with it all.


Leave a Reply

