Maine

I tried to come up with some clever pun/ play on words involving “Maine,” as so many poetic-comedic business owners do around here. But I have failed.

Maybe later in the week.

So I’m in Rockport, Maine. I am here for the purpose of learning about digital photography. See, everything I know about digital cameras (and taking pictures with them) I either picked up from my old roommate or taught myself. I think I have a pretty good handle on things, but I wanted to solidify the foundations a bit.

Today was day one.  We went over aperture, shutter speed, ISO, white balance, auto focus. The basics.

Honestly… I hope we pick up the pace a little. I’m pretty frustrated. The battery on my camera died almost as soon as the class started, but it didn’t really matter because I already knew how to fiddle with all of the things we went over. That’s pretty much all I do– fiddle with those things.

I was hoping to learn some new techniques, gain a little direction, get an honest critique of the work I already have, and definitely gain some organizational skills. How the hell do I *store* the 5,000 photos I have on my hard drive right now?? Some tips and tricks for that would be super helpful.

I want to stretch myself! I want someone to look at my photos with a trained eye and say “look, you’re being trite/ gimmicky/ lazy/ etc.” I want someone to give me assignments that are unusual and challenging and force me out of my comfort zone. Something that I couldn’t come up with on my own to do.

So far… not so much. I spent the “field trip” today doing what I always do with the camera: playing. I finished the “assignment” (one shallow depth of field, one deep depth of field, one stop motion, one in-motion, a variety of ISOs) and didn’t really get a whole lot out of it.

Here are the photos that I liked from today… most of them are *not* the ones that I took for the assignment:

Tomorrow morning we are learning how to do essentially what I just did by first editing and then publishing these photos here.

What do I do?? There aren’t any other photo workshops this week, so I can’t really switch. I’m here, right? Should I suck it up and get what I can out of it? Apparently they have a “no questions asked” policy if you’re unsatisfied for some reason. Perhaps I should talk to the instructor first, but I’m a little intimidated. He’s only two years older than I am! It would be easier if he were some middle-aged dude, I think.

I should stop whining. Other than already knowing how to do what we’ve just “learned,” I’m in a beautiful place and get to take pictures all week. Hooray…! I just wish I were getting a bit more out of it.

1 Response to “Maine”


  1. 1 paikiiimagery August 25, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Here’s an idea. Pick an area of Rockport. A wharf, a boat, a store. First take a wide angle shot. Now take additional shots of that area. Cropping within the camera as you go. Zoom in to crop but also walk closer to the subject.
    Mentally apply the Rule of Thirds to your shots. Look within that area to find interesting compositions. Don’t avoid difficult shots such as areas of strong light and deep shadow. Vary your shutter speed and adjust your aperture as needed.
    One more thing. Carry two batteries!


Leave a Reply

