Medeley

My host family enjoys having me sing after dinner. Most of you sould react with shock and alarm to that statement, especially if you have ever heard me sing.  However, you must keep in mind that 1) my family is Evangelical and that 2) the Evangelical music aesthetic is… different… in Guatemala. They assked specifically for religious songs in English… Grasping at my feeble memory, I pulled out “Mary Had a Little Lamb.” Seriously, it was the best I could do. I translated bits of it into Spanish and K’iche’, and then adapted it for the little girl in the house (Maribel, “dueña” of the cat)

Mary Had a Little Lamb

María tenía una ovejita, ovejita, ovejita

Mari’y k’o nitz’ uchij, nitz’ uchij, nitz’ uchij

Maribel has a little cat, little cat, little cat

Maribel tiene un gatito, un gatito, un gatitio

Maribe’l k’o nitz’ ume’s, nitz’ ume’s, nitz’ ume’s

***

Served a big bowl of steaming “herbs” the other night, this song of joy popped into my head. Oh, vegetables, how I miss thee…

Ode to Ichaj (to the tune of “Have I Told You Lately”)

Have I told you lately that I love ichaj

Have I told you there’s no other veggie on my plate

Fill my stomach with nutrients

Take away the simple sugars

Ease my tummy that’s what you do

For the black beans served in all their glory
I greet the day with a stack of tortillas too
You fill my diet with variety
And somehow you make it better
Ease my tummy that’s what you do
There’s a food that’s divine
And its yours and its mine only sometimes
And at the end of the day
We should give thanks that today
Its for dinner, its for dinner

Have I told you lately that I love ichaj
Have I told you there’s no other veggie on my plate
Fill my stomach with nutrients

Take away the simple sugars
Ease my tummy that’s what you do
There’s a food that’s divine
And its yours and its mine only sometimes
And at the end of the day
We should give thanks that today
Its for dinner, its for dinner

And have I told you lately that I love ichaj
Have I told you there’s no other veggie on my plate
Fill my stomach with nutrients

Take the extra starches
Ease my tummy that’s what you do
Take away the simple sugars

Fill my stomach with nutrients

Ease my tummy that’s what you do
Take away the simple sugars
Fill my stomach with nutrients

Ease my tummy that’s what you do

***

And, as a nice little break after learning a particularly confusing verb form in class, we’ve been learning kids’ songs in K’iche’. You have to imagine the MIDI track in the background…

Oxib’ taq kej

Oxib’ tag kej kepixk’anik cho le taq’aj (x3)

Jun alaj saqa rij

Jun alaj k’eq rij

Are jun alaj kaq kej je’l upetik (x3)

(Three horses jumping in the medow

There’s a white one

There’s a black one

There’s one pretty red one.)

0 Responses to “Medeley”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

