Deja Vu

Last Friday, I was sitting with a friend on the Diag, enjoying the sun and catching up on life-since-spring-break.  This woman came up to us and started talking about a volunteer project that she was running in Mozambique.  She didn’t speak much English (she was from Brazil) and was having quite a time explaining what it was she was going to do in Mozambique and what she wanted from us.

My friend is very optimistic, more so than I am I s’pose. He gave her $10 and took a brochure and wished her good luck.  I didn’t have any cash on me (really), but I was also skeptical.

The woman chatted with us a little longer and then went on to talk to the next person that would listen.

Fast-forward.

Saturday mid-afternoon, I’m sitting in my kitchen working on final papers.  The doorbell rings.

It’s the same woman from the Diag!  She looks just as shocked as I feel, and exclaims that she had a dream about me the night before… Her dream had something to do with trees, which we had talked about on the Diag.  She said there are a lot of trees here, but hardly any in her town in Brazil.  (Come to think of it, that was casually mentioned in the car on Friday night, too… the number of trees in Ann Arbor.)

I’m sufficiently weirded out, but try to ask her a few questions about how her quest is going.  She offers a few short replies, and then moves on to the next house.

I couldn’t help but think that I missed some larger point to my running in to this random woman twice in two days. Hm.

0 Responses to “Deja Vu”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

